Mumbai Indians add another IPL title

By Shashaank Singh, sports correspondent, FireTimes
At the stroke of midnight, Rohit Sharma and co. broke their jinx of odds by successfully retaining their crown and winning their 5th IPL title. MI dominated all through the season; ruthless batsmen and fierce bowlers make them a well deserved champions.
Delhi Capitals won the toss and decided to bat first and no changes were made in their playing 11 while MI had one forced change where Rahul Chahar missed out due to a niggle and Jayant Yadav replaced him.
‘Boult’ from the blue
Stoinis and Dhawan opened the innings against Trent Boult. Delhi’s misery started from ball one as Boult claimed Stoinis’ wicket with a perfect rising delivery. And then in his next over got Rahane out. In the 4th over, to everyone’s surprise Rohit brought Jayant to attack and it proved to be a brilliant move as he removed Delhi’s best batsman this season, Shikhar Dhawan. A vital partnership between skipper Iyer and Rishabh Pant flourished before Pant fell in the 15th over. Even though Iyer was on the crease, Delhi Capitals couldn’t accelerate their innings. They could only manage to get 38 run in their last 5 overs and finished at 156 for 7.
Scorecard – DC 156/7; Iyer -65 (50), Pant 56 (38);
Boult 4-30-3; N Coulter-Nile 4-29-2
The Chase Down
It was a night of captains, so MI’s Rohit Sharma took the charge and started to big from 1st over only. Though Quinton DeKok and Suryakumar fell cheaply, MI never looked out of the game. They scored 61 in the powerplays and made sure that the Capitals don’t have a chance to bounce back. They gave no half chances to DC. MI won the title witch a comfortable win of 5 wickets with 8 balls remaining.
Scorecard- MI 157/5; Rohit – 68(51), Kishan 33(19) ;
Nortje 2.4-25-2 ; Stoinis 2-23-1
This is just the 4th time that a team finishing at the top in leagues wins the title and only the second time after CSK (2010 & 2011) that a team won the the consecutively. MI have been a very different side since Ponting handed over the baton to Sharma midseason in 2013. Since then they have won 5 titles in 8 years, most by any team thus far.
Trent Boult (MI)- Man of the Match
Kieron Pollard (MI) – Super striker of the season
Ishan Kishan (MI) – Most sixes in the season
Devdutt Padikal (RCB) – Emerging player of the season
KL Rahul (KXIP)- Orange cap
Kagiso Rabada (DC) – purple cap
Jofra Archer (RR)- Most valuable player of the season
KL Rahul (KXIP) – Game-changer of the season
Trent Boult (MI)- Powerplayer of the season
Mumbai Indians -Fairplay Award of the season


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here